Taboola script Diabled on 7th April on request Adpushup head code Diabled on 7th April on request

AIFF president Kalyan Chaubey attends annual GFA awards ceremony

11 Jun, 2024 18:25 IST|Sakshi Post

Margao (Goa), June 11 (IANS) Sesa FA’s Joshua D’Silva and FC Tuem’s Pearl Fernandes were named the GFA men’s and women’s best players at the Goa Football Association’s annual awards night at Verna. AIFF President Kalyan Chaubey was present as the chief guest, along with GFA President Dr. Caitano Fernandes, AIFF Executive Committee member and former India captain Climax Lawrence, and many other dignitaries.

The Goa Football Association presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Nicholas Pereira, the legendary Goan defender. Nicholas won two Santosh Trophy titles in 1983 and 1984.

“Football in Goa is not a new thing. It is in the daily life of the people of Goa. I don’t think you need an outsider to stand here and tell you about football. I remember my days playing for Salgaocar and the Fatorda Stadium being full. All the faces here I’ve probably met or seen, 20 years ago,” said Kalyan Chaubey.

“Now it’s up to us to ensure that the talent gets the match time and opportunities to be noticed and scouted so that they can do more things for Goan football and national football and take the country further,” the AIFF President added.

Joshua D’Silva, the Goa Pro League’s top scorer for Sesa FA, scored 24 out of their 55 goals contributing 43.06 percent of the club’s goals in the GPL. He scored three goals for Goa in the Santosh Trophy and one at the 37th National Games.

Pearl Fernandes, has been Goa’s upcoming talent who shone brightly at the U-17 girls’ nationals and, also made her debut for India's U-16 Women’s Team, scoring twice. In domestic football, she scored 25 goals in the Vedanta Women’s League.

Dempo SC were awarded the team of the season for qualifying for the I-League after nine years. M. Faheez has been named the Futsal Player of the Year.

Sesa FA coach and Goa Santosh Trophy team coach for 2023-24, Charles Dias, was named the coach of the season.

Disclaimer: This story has not been edited by the Sakshi Post team and is auto-generated from syndicated feed.

whatsapp channel
Read More:
More News